Grrr! Voltage detector poor quality control.

Help Support Ruger Forum:

SamV

Buckeye
So I am doing a little electrical work trying to diagnose a wiring problem. Naturally I can't find my reliable non contact voltage detectors. I have three around somewhere. I suspect offspring for their disappearance. So off I go for number 4. I used to sell electrical supplies, so I tended to know which ones were decent or not. I always used to test them for customers before they left. I had seen several that did not work well. So did I do that? Nope. I waited till I paid for it and got home. Does it detect voltage? Yes. From about a foot away. It is perfect for knowing that there is a live wire in the room. Which wire? Not a chance, but it is there somewhere with all the other wires within a foot or two.
Why do these companies care so little about quality? Back to return. By the way, not a cheapie model,

I'm by no means an expert, but are you sure it is the detector.

I have a friend who has a 240volt chop saw that was causing problems... it would shock you if you were sweaty and standing on the ground and touched the frame... it would set off my voltage detector if you got within 3ft of it on a hot humid day

Hellraiser

Single-Sixer
I've always wondered whether they had one of those voltage detectors mounted to see for the person sittin' in an electric chair.

SamV

Buckeye
blume357 said:
I'm by no means an expert, but are you sure it is the detector.

I have a friend who has a 240volt chop saw that was causing problems... it would shock you if you were sweaty and standing on the ground and touched the frame... it would set off my voltage detector if you got within 3ft of it on a hot humid day