Is it safe to fire .38 rounds out of a .357, or will it damage the revolver?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Rlvr

Bearcat
I recently got a .357 Magnum and am considering using .38 Special rounds for practice due to cost and recoil benefits.

However, I'm concerned about potential issues like chamber buildup. I'm seeking advice from the more experienced revolver users here on balancing .38 Special usage and maintaining the .357 Magnum.

• Does shooting .38 harm when shot from a .357?
  • What are your maintenance tips and cleaning routines to keep the revolver in good condition?
  • Do I have to do anything special when shooting?
  • Do I need to be sure I clean it any differently afterwards?
  • Can I mix the two rounds while shooting at the range? Is that dangerous?
I feel like a complete newbie posting this, but this is my first dive into the revolver world, so I want to be sure I don't harm my LCR.

Thank you.

Durango Dave

Single-Sixer
There's no problem shooting both out of the same gun. You can even load and shoot 3 of each if you really want.
You will end up with a crud ring in front of the 38 special brass, up to the point where the 357 brass ends. Just make sure to clean the cylinder. If you don't do a good job of cleaning the cylinder you may have the 357 brass hard to eject. Some people don't like shooting a mix of 357 and 38 special because of this crud ring but it's no big deal to clean.

Gadgetsrfun

Bearcat
It is 100% safe to shoot a 38 special through your 357. Make certain it is 38 special and not 38 Smith& Wesson although I don't think the latter will fit. It has been done for lifetimes and has been a "selling point" of the 357 mag. As has been mentioned a little extra cleaning of the cylinder is needed but absolutely no issue with forcing cone or barrel.

JoeA

Bearcat