RW Grip Frame fitting round 2, the hump

Help Support Ruger Forum:

contender

Ruger Guru
Ok, I managed over the last 2 days to sneak in some time with the grip frame,, to work on the hump section of the Bradshaw Bisley brass g/f. As noted above,, the older main frames had a downward curve slightly making the grip frame fitting a bit of a challenge to keep from over doing it, and wrecking the g/f.
So,, while the mating edges are now fitted very well, when you look close,, you can see the blued frame having a slight downward curve, and the brass seems to rise a little after they meet.

I studied this in detail to see what method of cutting the 3/32nds amount of brass down w/o making it look like a hack job. I chose to use a 1" wide belt sander,, with a worn down belt. I CAREFULLY sanded away material towards my scribe line,, and once I got close,, I started my constant "sand a little, mount, check the fit, & do it again" method. Once again, it took several trips from the sander to the frame & back to CAREFULLY & slowly get it to fit. And by using the belt sander,, I could keep working on the curve of the backstrap & not get it out of contour. The real trick was to NOT cut away the trailing edge of the brass while I cut the curve. But I think I've achieved my goal.

I've taken a couple of pictures.

RW grip frame #8.JPG
RW grip frame #7.JPG

protoolman

Service-Sixer
I just went and looked at all 3 new models and one old model in my safe. They would all need to rise after that same downward angle. I'm good with the standard frame, so that might make me hold off paying too much for a Ronnie Wells Bisley. If I buy one of his I'll stick with a lower grip just to do away with that problem.

contender

Ruger Guru