Concealed Carry

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Tom-R2

Bearcat
If you are unsure, it sounds like the best course of action at this point is to be sure you have a quality firearm and seek out a real training course, not rely on Billy-Joe-Bob at the range or down the street to give you some points. A real training course will teach you the proper techniques and give you the confidence to be safe with your handgun. I'm a huge fan on carrying a concealed firearm for self protection, but I also personally believe that you have a high level of responsibility to go with that right. Personally, I always carry pistols with a round in the chamber, and carry revolvers with a full cylinder. I always advocate carrying concealed within the laws of your area, or wherever you happen to travel. Best of luck, be safe and have fun.

Fredo

Bearcat
Thanks. I'm in Arizona so concealed carry is not an issue. I'm brand new to firearms and aside from taking the CCW course I also took a course in basic pistol fundamentals. I'm 72 and I'm taking things in steps. I want to just get used to carrying before I move to one in the chamber

GunnyGene

Hawkeye
Correct me if I'm wrong, but the gun you plan on carrying is the Security 9 you mentioned in another thread?